Skip to content



Medical Council of Canada Exams at Touchstone Institute



Touchstone Institute has been a host site for the National Assessment Collaboration (NAC) examination since its adoption as a Canada-wide exam for International Medical Graduates (IMGs). We also administer the Therapeutic Decision Making Exam for internationally trained doctors referred by provincial Practice-Ready Assessment programs. In 2018 we became a site for the Medical Council of Canada Qualifying Examination Part II (MCCQE Part II).
Map icon


Touchstone Institute

145 Wellington St W
Suite 600
Toronto, ON
M5J 1H8


National Assessment Collaboration Examination (NAC OSCE)

Developed by the National Assessment Collaboration (NAC), this examination is a national, standardized objective structured clinical examination (OSCE) that tests the knowledge, skills, and attitudes essential for entrance into postgraduate training in Canada.

For more information about the NAC Examination, visit the Medical Council of Canada website.


Medical Council Of Canada Qualifying Examination Part II (MCCQE part II)

Medical Council of Canada Qualifying Examination (MCCQE) Part II is a two-day clinical exam that assesses competence, knowledge, skills and attitudes essential for entry into independent clinical practice.

You must pass the Medical Council of Canada Qualifying Examination (MCCQE) Part II to obtain the Licentiate of the Medical Council of Canada (LMCC). Canadian medical regulatory authorities may require you to have the LMCC to apply for a medical licence within their province or territory.

To learn about application and eligibility please visit the Medical Council of Canada website.


Medical Council Of Canada Therapeutic Decision-Making Test (MCC TDM)

Therapeutics is defined as the application of knowledge in the pharmacological and non-pharmacological management of medical conditions. 

The TDM exam aims to assess the competence of candidates at the level required of a family physician practicing independently and safely in Canada. It consists of patient-based scenarios representing common or important clinical presentation and problems that family physicians practicing in Canada should be able to competently manage in the following dimensions of medical care: health promotion and illness prevention, acute illness, and safety and adverse effects.

The TDM is owned and managed by the Medical Council of Canada (MCC). Touchstone Institute administers the TDM on behalf of provincial Practice Ready Assessment (PRA) programs. 

To learn more visit your regulatory authority or the Medical Council of Canada website.


Touchstone Institute has collaborated with the following organization to administer these assessments.